Day 2 – Bujumbura, Burundi (06 November 2011)   Leave a comment


Sunday

Today all of us went to Deaf church at a school.  The music was signed to the beat of a loud drum.  Hopefully, this picture will give you some idea.

One of the highlights for me was when we were introduced.  I had been making eye contact with a young baby so as I went forward I asked to hold the baby.  I got a surprised look and a tentative agreement.  I carried the baby up front and got to hold her for about 15 minutes.  Unfortunately, I do not have a picture of me holding the baby so this will have to suffice.

 

After the service ended we spent a lot of time with the children.  Here is Aris with some new friends.

 

After lunch and after the rain stopped four of us walked down to Lake Tanganyika.  We walked to the water’s edge and thought at first we were seeing a crocodile about 50 meters away in the water.  It turned out to be a hippopotomus.  Only its nostrils were visible so we didn’t get any good pictures.

However, some people saw us signing and came over.  They were some Deaf ladies dressed very nicely on the way to a party, perhaps a wedding party.  We talked for a long time.  Actually I should say the they talked with the three of us who could sign.  Finally one lady, the done in red, asked why I didn’t communicate.  I told her that I was handicapped because I couldn’t sign.  They promised to come to the dedication on 14 November.

 

Posted 7 November 2011 by prpttccnsltnt in Africa, Burundi 2011, Deaf, Sign Language

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

